Pardee RAND Leadership

  • photo of Susan L. Marquis

    Susan L. Marquis

    Dean and RAND Vice President of Innovation

    Susan L. Marquis (Ph.D., Woodrow Wilson School of Public and International Affairs) is the fourth dean of the Pardee RAND Graduate School. She also holds the Distinguished Chair in Policy Analysis at RAND and is Vice President of Innovation.
    Learn more »

Policy Engagement Stream Leadership

Designated Faculty Student Advisors

Pardee RAND Board of Governors

The role of the Pardee RAND Graduate School Board of Governors cannot be overstated. Board members serve as strategic advisors, offering not only their ideas and expertise but also, through their generous gifts, a solid financial foundation from which we can operate. They help us not just with fundraising but also with “friend-raising”—introducing others into the Pardee RAND community so that we can achieve our overarching objective to create the next generation of policy leaders. With delegated governance authority, the board reviews and oversees our budget, offers counsel to help ensure the quality of our curriculum, supports our approach to attracting and retaining the best and brightest from throughout the world, and helps us become an engine of innovation at RAND.

Members of the Board of Governors are also primary providers of scholarships, dissertations, and unrestricted funds: They understand our need for student support and flexibility—to use money where it is needed most and when opportunities arise.

List updated August 2020

James B. Lovelace (Chair)


Capital Research Global Investors

David Barclay

Partner (retired)

Capital Group Companies

Richard Breeden


Breeden Capital Management LLC

John Seely Brown


Center for the Edge, Deloitte LLP


Institute for Research on Learning

Jane Cavalier

Founder and Chief Executive Officer

BrightMark Corporate Directioning and Brand Consulting

Michael Dardia


DM Advisory

Thomas E. Epley

Partner (retired)

Vance Street Capital

Former Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

Technicolor Inc.


Secure Communication Systems Corporation


Semicoa Corporation

Susan Fuhrman

President (retired)

Teachers College, Columbia University

Francis Fukuyama

Olivier Nomellini Senior Fellow

The Freeman Spogli Institute for International Studies

Center on Democracy, Development, and the Rule of Law

Stanford University

Patrick Geraghty

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer

GuideWell and Florida Blue

Pedro José Greer, Jr., M.D.

Professor and Founding Dean

Roseman University College of Medicine


RAND Corporation

Ann McLaughlin Korologos

Chairman Emeritus

The Aspen Institute

Former U.S. Secretary of Labor

Trustee Emeritus

RAND Corporation

Carol M. Mangione


Department of Health Policy and Management

Fielding School of Public Health

University of California, Los Angeles


Robert Wood Johnson Foundation Clinical Scholars Program

University of California, Los Angeles

William E. Mayer

Cofounder and Partner

Park Avenue Equity Partners

R. Preston McAfee

Chief Economist (retired)


Visiting Professor of Economics

California Institute of Technology

Santiago Morales


Maxiforce Inc.

Soledad O'Brien


Chief Executive Officer

Starfish Media Group


RAND Corporation

Frederick S. Pardee


Donald B. Rice

Retired President and Chief Executive Officer

Agensys, Inc.

Former U.S. Secretary of the Air Force


RAND Corporation

Sharon Stevenson

Cofounder and Managing Director

Okapi Venture Capital, LLC

Ex Officio

Michael D. Rich

President and Chief Executive Officer

RAND Corporation